Livery Mockups – 2017 Formula 1 Field

The most exciting part of the year for us livery junkies is just around the corner; F1 launches! Big changes in the regulations mean the cars will look very different, but there’s every chance liveries will be quite different too. With a bunch of driver and sponsor changes, I’m very excited to see what the teams present to us this year.

After last year’s successful post, I’ve decided to get a few other designers from International Motorsports Graphics to draw up their thoughts, and explore liveries from a number different design angles. Thanks for your contributions WhiskyTangoFoxtrot and LiveriesAreTheBest!

Special thanks to StylePixelStudios for the beautiful template and without further ado, here are our 2017 Formula 1 field mockups, followed by a short description from each designer.

Ferrari

ferrari-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – Knowing that Ferrari is going to get rid of the white part in their livery – which I consider a mistake – I have chosen to keep it in this rather angular design. I have also added a cheeky touch of green to include all the colors of the Italian tricolor.

ferrari-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – I made 2 other takes of what a Ferrari 2017 livery might look like, but this all-red one suits the best, taking inspiration from the 2007 Ferrari. A much different Scuderia Ferrari logo on the engine cover looks somewhat better for me than the original one.

ferrari-jarnooo

The Livery Blog – In the 2000s I got sick of the Marlboro/Vodafone white on the Ferraris and ever since, I had an aversion to the combo. This year, however, I discovered that I may have overcome it. Instead of going for black as a secondary colour, which I always thought looked best, I’ve played with distribution of white. Since the rumours in the Italian media (which are often true) say that the white engine cover will be gone, I’ve gone with small sections of white behind the airbox, in front of the cockpit and along the bottom side of the car. I’ve also kept the Italian flag on the airbox, which was a nice touch last year. The red used is also a slightly different hue. The Marlboro Scuderia Ferrari logo will inevitably remain , as will the white wings. That said, perhaps they will try to mimic the black of the 1990 Ferrari. Because emulating and old livery brought them so much success last year.

Force India

force-india-jarnooo

The Livery Blog – I’m not sure how big an investment Johnnie Walker have actually put into Force India, but here I’m assuming they’ll be on the sidepods. I’ve taken inspiration from the Force India liveries of 2009/10 which I really liked and applied swooping bright green and orange lines along the car, but with a black base, in line with their current image.

So what if Johnnie Walker had a beefy sponsorship and decided to promote one of their brands?

force-india-jarnooo-2

My alternative is a Johnnie Walker Black Label livery. I’ve tried my best to minimise the JPS/Renault/Lotus resemblance but the similarities can’t really be avoided. I’ve used the bottle label on the sidepod, a design I’ve always been a fan of, so no real need to mess with it. On the rest of the car, I’ve used two different shades of gold, a lighter shade on the logos and shape outlines, with a darker shade half filling those shapes. These colours just work incredibly well together.

force-india-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – This one is inspired by Force India’s 2008 testing livery. Silver/orange at the front and orange/green at the back.

force-india-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – For Force India, I have created a very straight-lined design that attempts to have a place for each one of their many minor sponsors. The old combination of orange, white and green has replaced their predominantly black-and-silver designs of recent years.

Haas

haas-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – I made the American flag an integral part of the design on the Haas car while creating a splatter-based design using their old color scheme, only changing the shade of the red to match that of the Stars and Stripes.

haas-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – Haas’ 2016 livery was with grey as main colour, but why not shuffle up these three colours? Red was the eventual pick as the base colour.

haas-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – I have to start by saying Haas’ current livery is great and I’d be happy to see it retained for another year. That said, I’ve tried to use their current colours in a new way. With the fondly remembered Compaq/HP Williams cars in mind, I’ve placed a flat design of alternating black, grey and red over multiple surfaces of the car. This is only interrupted by white sections on the ‘top’ surfaces of the car. I’ve used red as a highlight, placing it on the top edges of the car (engine cover, wings and mirrors), as well as extra accents on the nose and headrest. Only issue for Haas at the moment is the lack of sponsorship, so a complex design is required to stop the car looking empty.

Manor

manor-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – Although Manor are unlikely to race at this point, I’ve decided to make a livery anyway. Whilst the livery is similar to 2016, I’ve slightly altered the colours, going with a lighter blue and a brighter orange. I’ve also gone with white alone as a third colour (no black), using a major chunk of it along the side of the car which I feel brightens the livery a little. The logo on the engine cover remains, which looked great last year. However, I wouldn’t be disappointed to see the 2016 livery used again, which was a fan favourite…should they race 😦

manor-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – It’s sad that we won’t see Manor on the grid…

manor-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – Without an idea of who their drivers and sponsors will be – and whether we’ll see them on the grid at all – I created a swirly flame design for Manor with last year’s sponsors and color scheme.

McLaren

mclaren-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – I still want to see an orange McLaren! As I feel like they will not have a main sponsor once again, I have just used McLaren, placing it in something of an awkward place for the benefit of the design. The orange part is meant to be pearlescent.

mclaren-jarnooo-1

TheLiveryBlog – Before all the orange speculation, I reverted back to 2015. I always loved the sparkly black colour seen on the majority of the McLaren that started the year. I’ve used this over the whole car, whilst retaining the dayglo design on top of the sidepods. I’ve also added a thin dayglo trimming on the entire side following the nose and engine cover, outlining the car and contrasting well with the sparkly black (which I may have put a bit too much blue hue in).

mclaren-jarnooo-2

However, the orange McLaren hype is real! So this design features a lot of the paler orange seen in the 70s, along with the current charcoal colour which I’m totally indifferent about. It’s a bit of a mish mash in my opinion, but Ron is gone so who knows what we might see next year. Perhaps it will be entirely orange?

mclaren-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – I also made two other takes of a McLaren 2017 livery, but following the latest news that McLaren may go orange this year, I decided to make this all-orange version.

Mercedes

mercedes-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – For the second year in a row I’ve decided to throw caution to the wind for my Mercedes deisgn. I’ve cut down on silver again and included a lot of black and Petronas turquoise, the latter in thick strips along the engine cover, sidepods, rear wing end plates and wrapping over the nose. The silver is in two distinct sections, one engulfing the cockpit and the other the rear of the car. While there’s zero hope of this being even remotely similar to the 2017 livery, you can’t let the man get you down.

mercedes-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – I actually do like Mercedes’ 2016 livery, but why not add some more turquoise to the livery? This is what it could look like with a black “Vodafone McLaren-ish” sidepod.

mercedes-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – For Mercedes, I have just created a simple design of swirly stripes while brightening the background color to almost white.

Red Bull

red-bull-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – Keeping Red Bull’s combination of matte black and bright red that was introduced last year, I have created a splatter design hoping to make it seem more aggressive, playful and exciting.

red-bull-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – I’ve stuck fairly close to last year’s livery, which was my favourite of the 2016 field. The major changes here are the removal of the Total red on the wings, extension of the thin red line to the end of the sidepods and removal of the Bull’s yellow outline, which I felt made the car look a little unbalanced, considering the Red Bull text didn’t have an outline. Another addition is having the cockpit all in yellow, which gives me happy Sauber 1999 vibes.

red-bull-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – Nothing slightly different compared to RBR’s 2016 livery. Couldn’t think of anything else.

Renault

renault-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – Inspired by the classic Renault liveries from the 1980’s. Replaced the Total logo with BP following the announcement that they will use BP/Castrol fuel.

renault-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – A plain yellow car has its merits, but that would not be very rewarding to create. Thus, a traditionally colored Renault with the addition of white in a swooping design.

renault-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – I struggled a little with the Renault, because I don’t think it will be as plain this year. I’ve added three main black sections; straight along the top edge of the engine cover, wrapping over the nose, and in the very rear of the sidepods (as well as the wings). These black sections are outlined by three shortening strips of reflective gold.

Sauber

sauber-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – After some pleasant emails with Sauber last year, where they explained the process behind the design of their livery and that their team colours are blue and white, I’ve designed a livery using a pleasantly vibrant blue with white the only other colour, assuming no major sponsors are coming on board this year. I’ve kept the design minimal, with just five white lines strategically placed across the car. There is one major white section, on the top of the nose, giving some significant contrast to the abundance of blue on the car and is a subtle design throwback to arguably my favourite all time livery.

sauber-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – Please do not adjust your computer screens – this car is not supposed to have color. With the withdrawal of Banco de Brasil, one can only guess what the 2017 livery will look like. Nonetheless, this one draws inspiration from their 1994 livery and upgrades Silanna to the position of main sponsor – of course, this could be any company.

sauber-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – I decided to make a new take on the Sauber so this one is plain metallic blue.

Toro Rosso

str-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – I seriously can’t think of a super-cool Toro Rosso livery so I made this one. Just a “blank” livery with a big bull they used from 2006 to 2008. This one is based off of my 2016 Toro Rosso concept.

str-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – Every year we labour to make nice STR liveries and every year we are left discouraged. Inevitable disappointment aside, this year I’ve added a whole bunch of white to the livery. The engine cover (where the cartoon Bull has once again been removed) features a Red Bull can style background, breaking up the navy blue. The gold used is a little lighter whilst the red has been nudged a notch or two lighter. The Red Bull logo on the sidepod sits on a large white section which is pointed at the tip. There are also large white sections on the bottom and on top of the nose/cockpit. Each of these white sections feature a fade to gold.

str-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – I’ll admit that I have no idea how to design a livery for STR. However, I am getting tired of the dark colors of their liveries, so I totally changed it. Also, seeing how they have previously used gold in their design elements, I made it into one of the main colors to create a unique color scheme that sets them apart from the other teams.

Williams

williams-wtf

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot – Just another Martini design, nothing else.

williams-jarnooo

TheLiveryBlog – Finally, I’ve gone a little retro with Williams. As I’ve mentioned before, a fourth year of a nearly identical Martini livery would be too much. This time I’ve used straight horizontal lines and a retro logo harking back to the Martini liveries of the 70s. The Martini stripes extend to the wings and straight along the top of the nose. A welcome change in my opinion!

williams-latb

LiveriesAreTheBest – Same opinion as the Toro Rosso, so I ended up making this. This one is inspired by the 2008-2010 Williams liveries.

So that’s it for another year. Would love to get people’s thoughts and opinions, so let us know what you think! Here’s to some lovely liveries this season.

Livery Mockups – 2017 Formula 1 Field

2 thoughts on “Livery Mockups – 2017 Formula 1 Field

Leave a Reply

