Livery Launch – Ferrari SF16-H

Another day another launch, this time from the red team.

Ferrari 2

This SHOULD have been the best livery on the grid. Unfortunately, for me, it’s probably the biggest nagger on the grid. Let me explain.

By all means, this not a bad livery. However, there are just a couple of things that are bugging the hell out of me. To me, it looks like designer made two different liveries, one partially black and one partially white, and simply copied both onto the car. They don’t compliment each other the way they should. The wavy (did it HAVE to be wavy?) black section bordering the white on the cockpit/engine cover area looks strange, especially the way it overlaps both the red and white near the exhaust. Honestly, despite this, the top section does look good, but it just clashes with the bottom section.

The black section on the bottom, that spreads from the nose all the way to the rear is just fine, but the white on top of it puts me off. The way it juts away from the black under the Ferrari and Santander logos, rather than following the curve of the black is strange and the pinstripe on top of that is unnecessary and adds clutter to what is already a very full car. Also, the top section doesn’t have a pinstripe, so there goes any real continuity in that part of the design.

Ferrari 1

The sponsorship logo placements are also a little off. Kaspersky is squished on the nose, as is Weichai below Santander. Along with that, the Scuderia logo on the engine cover is too big; a little smaller and it wouldn’t have to run onto the red or black sections.

That was a whole lot of negativity, so lets look at what they did right. The large white section on the engine cover, a throwback it seems to the 70s, is fantastic. I always said Ferrari needs to lose the white, but they’ve proved me wrong by adding more. It’s excellent and I wish it carried all the way along, rather than stopping at the ‘fin’, if you can still call it that. The Italian flag on the airbox is great too. Similarly, the extended Italian flag on the front wing endplates and barge boards are great little bits of detail. The Santander logo is surrounded by minimal white again on the rear wing which is great too.

Unfortunately, that’s about where the positives stop for me. The more I look at this livery, the more I pick it apart. I hope it grows on me, but I have a feeling I’ll only get used to it, rather than begin to enjoy looking at it. I don’t hate it, it’s just a livery that annoys me.

Livery Launch – Ferrari SF16-H

Leave a Reply

