Liveries of the Day – Team Penske 2015

It’s fun to look at beautiful liveries, it’s even interesting to pick apart awful liveries, but there’s something in between that doesn’t quite fit in either. I’m not talking about mediocre liveries, I’m talking about the “naggers”, the liveries that annoy you. A perfect example of this, are the liveries on the Team Penske machines in IndyCar this year.

What’s wrong with them you ask? On their own, they actually aren’t bad at all, in fact, they suit the car very nicely when you see it from above. It’s the fact that they’ve used the exact same livery on each car, with the colours swapped around, that grinds my gears. This is common in football (soccer), where the kit manufacturer has some cookie cutter template designs and the team just puts its colours and logos on it. Most football fans will tell you they hate this too. Why? Because a team deserves its own unique design and identity, and sharing a design with another team entirely contradicts that. Same goes for Team Penske.

Penske 3

Putting the same design on each car gives the impression that the team is being lazy. It looks lazy that each car doesn’t have its own identity. However, I have to cut Penske some slack. Every car is sponsored by Verizon, so there’s no real need to change up the design. In fact, it’s probably in Verizon’s best interests to keep the design static on each car. Secondly, it seems as though the colours on the cars are changed to match each driver’s helmet. It’s actually a cool idea and one I have to give Penske kudos for.

The livery design itself is quite basic. A half and half design, with a third colour splitting the two in the middle. The middle line wraps around the nose cone very nicely, but the squiggle on the sidepod doesn’t really look special unless you are looking at it from the top. The design works best in my opinion, on Power and Castroneves’ cars, with the white top and black bottom split with a strong red. Pagenaud’s yellow and white split by blue doesn’t quite work for me, and neither does Castroneves’ Indy 500 effort, with the red and yellow. If all the colour combinations worked well, maybe I wouldn’t be annoyed by the liveries at all. Props to the reflective burgundy used on Montoya’s car on one or two occasions though. Lovely colour!

At the end of the day, these liveries still somewhat annoy me, but not really for the same reasons that I had initially. Now, I’m more annoyed that the design itself lacks any real excitement, hit and miss colour combos and that each driver’s identity could have been put onto the car in a similar but more interesting fashion.

The best part of this blog is that I come into a post with an idea in my head and quite often, by the time I’ve done all of my research, my thoughts have changed considerably. I came into this with a deep seeded annoyance with the Team Penske liveries and after doing just a little bit of looking around, the annoyance has almost completely dissipated. How about that for a life tip: Do your research before you put your foot in it!

Liveries of the Day – Team Penske 2015

3 thoughts on “Liveries of the Day – Team Penske 2015

  1. Space on the sidepod has been a problem since the DW12 came along, and more so this year with the aero packages by Chevy and Honda. So I like Penske’s take of putting the main sponsor on the engine cover. However I think they should’ve painted the sidepod a single colour (like Pagenaud’s above) and not have the design over it (like Power’s). I think it would’ve been better served by some associate sponsors logos, or even Chevy’s logo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have to admit I didn’t notice that subtle difference. It seems to be that way on Montoya’s car too (at least in the 5th picture). You are right though, it looks much better as a single colour, as it does kind of awkwardly protrude onto the sidepod from a side on view otherwise.

      I wonder what the thinking was behind that, because it seems like such a pointless and unnecessary difference to the other cars.

      Like

Leave a Reply

