Livery of the Day – #83 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet

I still haven’t fully wrapped my head around IndyCar sponsorship. It seems the cars change liveries from race to race, which makes it a little hard to keep track, but also keeps things interesting I suppose.

83 1

Each Chip Ganassi car has a different livery, but today I’m going to focus on the #83, driven by Charlie Kimball. Specifically, the NovoLog FlexPen sponsored livery. I have an affinity for the colour combination of blue and orange, so it’s no surprise that I speak of this livery with great positivity.

This livery was originally created in 2012, albeit with the blue and orange in inverted positions, and has barely changed since. When the livery looks good and the sponsor is happy, why change it? The shade of orange is bright and strong, the blue deep, but vibrant. The orange and blue areas are placed with the curves of the car in mind, and split pleasantly by thin white lines. Nothing is out of place on this car. I question the use of a picture on any car, and the “FlexPen” featured on the front wing endplates on this livery is no exception. It doesn’t look fantastic, but at least it’s colour coordinated and unobtrusive.

In my opinion, the livery looks better in majority blue than it did in majority orange. While orange is quite possibly my favourite colour (especially strong, blood orange), I prefer this shade not to be used as the main colour. Blue, however, is perfect as a main colour. Perhaps my bias is now showing (see my Prost post).

83 3

While this is a fantastic livery, I do hope they change it up a little bit soon. Perhaps the constant livery changes mid-season livery changes allow for a greater longevity for liveries in this championship, unlike in Formula 1. Perhaps that could have helped Toyota F1. Boy did I get tired of that livery quickly. However, that is a story for another day.

Livery of the Day – #83 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet

Leave a Reply

